beauty · Makeup

Cake and Bake Sponge.. Worth the Hype?

Hi guys! I just got back from a little vacation from my parents this weekend. Much needed.

Any way I’ve been using the Sephora Cake and Bake Sponge for a few weeks now and I wanted to give you my thoughts.

Here’s what mine looks like wet. Also a little size comparison for you. It doesn’t expand once you wet it. At least not that I notice. It also doesn’t get as “wet” at the beauty blender or Real Technique Sponge. They get soaked this almost just dampens.

It’s not as soft as the Beauty Blender or Real Technique Sponge either. But not in a bad way. It’s a lot more stiff and not as bouncy. But the shape is obviously different so that makes it less bouncy.

The softness kind of bothers me. The first few times it felt like I was hitting my face a little to hard. But now not so much. You get use to it for sure.

It blends foundation out really well. No problems there. Same with conclear. That’s mostly what I use my sponges for is conclear. It also is an amazing shape for under the eyes. If you like a sharp look on your eyeshadow or have problems getting foundation on your eyeshadow I think you’ll really like the Cake and Bake for that! I know I do. Sharp lines are my favorite!

Now for baking. I’m used to baking with a dry sponge. Weird I know! But I’ve always like it better. Wet sponges would make the powder to clumpy. But I like this one! It makes your powder look so smooth! You can set or bake with it and I had zero problems!

I’m not one to bake my contour, but for the sake of trying out the sponge I did it a few times. It’s amazing for that. It’s just so sharp and clean. That’s not an everyday thing for me, but if it for you I bet you’d like the sponge for that.

The Cake and Bake Sponge retails for 14 dollars at Sephora. The Real Technique Sponge retails 6.99 at Ulta(sometimes you can find it for $4 at Walmart ūüėČ) and the Beauty Blender retails for for $20 at Sephora. So I think the price is right!

Will I buy it again? I’m not sure yet. I really enjoy it but I just love the miracle complexion Sponge for Real Technique. You can’t beat it for the price. But is the hype worth it? To an extent yes. If you’re super into baking I think you’ll like this a lot. If you just need it for foundation I say don’t fall into the hype.

Sorry this is so long I really wanted to talk about everything with this sponge! If you’re still here thanks for reading! Let me know if you’ve tried this sponge or any other cool sponges!

Let’s be social media friends!

Twitter-lobellojess 

Instagram-justjess.96

Pinterest-Jessica LoBello 

5 thoughts on “Cake and Bake Sponge.. Worth the Hype?

Leave a Reply

